Backing up and restoring Windows Media Center schedules and recordings in Win7

Right, I’m about to bite the bullet and flatten my office laptop and do a clean install of Win 7.

I use the office laptop as a “server” for our home entertainment solution. I’ve got Windows Media Center running with a Hauppauge dual tuner USB stick. In our bedroom and the lounge we’ve got a Linksys DMA 2100 Media Center extender, both connected to the laptop via a 200Mb Devolo Ethernet over Power network adapters.

I’ve also installed My Movies 3 on the laptop and am in the process of ripping our DVD collection onto my 1Tb Western Digitial My Book external hard drive.

What I want to be able to do is to reinstall Win 7 and not have to either lose programs already recorded or have to go through and set up our recording schedule again. I initially performed an upgrade from Vista to Win7 as I’d read that the way Win 7 Media Center stores its information is different to Vista. So, now I’m in Win 7 I should just be able to do a straightforward backup and restore. This link showed me how:
http://www.hack7mc.com/2009/03/backup-and-restore-recording-schedule.html

Leave a comment